The importance of talking about mental health in the Research Software Engineering community

09:00-10:00 UTC / 10:00-11:00 BST (UK), Tuesday 16th May, 2023
(11am, Europe CEST / Africa SAST; 12pm, Europe EEST / Africa EAT; 1pm GST (Dubai); 2.30pm IST (India); 5pm CST(China)/AWST (Western Australia); 7pm AEST (Eastern Australia); 9pm NZST (NZ))

Registration: online attendance via Zoom
Registration for in-person attendance at Imperial College London

Slides: A link to the slides will appear here following the talk
Video: A link to the video will appear here following the talk

Overview

The DiveRSE series is back for 2023 and we’re delighted to announce our first talk in the 2023 series. To link with Mental Health Awareness Week in the UK (15th-21st May 2023), Dave Horsfall, Senior Research Software Engineer at Newcastle University, UK will speak about “The importance of talking about mental health in the Research Software Engineering community”.

In a first for DiveRSE, this will be a hybrid talk. In addition to welcoming a wide international audience online via Zoom, the talk will also welcome in-person attendees at Imperial College London.

Following the talk, there will be time for questions and discussion.

This talk is being supported by the Software Sustainability Institute in the UK, via Dave’s SSI Fellowship, and through UKRI EPSRC via the Research Software Engineering Fellowship grant EP/R025460/1.

About the speaker

Dave Horsfall is a Software Sustainability Institute fellow who advocates for better mental health in the RSE community. He works as a Senior Research Software Engineer at Newcastle University, with a primary focus on developing new biomedical research software to better understanding how the human immune system develops and maintains health. Dave has spoken to audiences across the United Kingdom, and internationally, about academic mental health and is passionate about creating spaces where people feel they can talk freely, without being judged. Find out more at https://horsfall.dev/mental-health/

Registration

This is a hybrid talk.

For online attendance via Zoom: Register here.

For in-person attendance at Imperial College London: Register here.

A recording of the talk will also be made available on the Society of Research Software Engineering Youtube Channel following the session.