Lessons from Diversity, Equity and Inclusion (DEI) in open source software (OSS)

15:00-16:00 UTC, Tuesday 5th July, 2022
(8am US PDT; 10am US CDT; 11pm US EDT, 4pm UK BST, 5pm CEST, 6pm EEST)

Registration: via Zoom

Slides: View the talk slides (placeholder)

Overview

We’re delighted to welcome Hana Frluckaj, PhD Student in Information Studies at University of Texas-Austin, as our next speaker in the DiveRSE talk series. Hana will be speaking about Diversity, Equity and Inclusion (DEI) in open source software (OSS).

Following the talk, there will be time for questions and discussion.

Register for this talk via Zoom.

Abstract

“Lessons from Diversity, Equity and Inclusion (DEI) in open source software (OSS)”

This presentation will explore why increasing diversity, equity, and inclusion is integral to OSS’s future, and will cover topics including the code of conduct’s role as a moderation tool, the different OSS career trajectories between men and women, and the unique experiences of contributors coming from under-represented and vulnerable backgrounds, particularly gender non-conforming contributors.

About the speaker

Hana is a PhD student at the University of Texas-Austin in Information Studies, advised by Dr. James Howison, and is a continuing research assistant at Carnegie Mellon University also advised by Dr. Laura Dabbish. She is interested in topics related to increasing DEI in OSS and designing interventions to support contributors from under-represented backgrounds.

Registration

Register here. This talk will take place via Zoom.

A recording of the talk will also be made available on the Society of Research Software Engineering Youtube Channel following the session.